Charlie Romero by Rose (Hasan Bukroot)

Charlie Romero by Rose (Hasan Bukroot)

Glittery clothes, phosphorescent makeup, oil, glitter and blood… Does this combination bring anything to mind? If it does, then you know I’m talking about the one and only Charlie Romero! This soon-to-be legend – born and raised Californian – leaves all who meet him dazzled. And trust me; it’s not just because of his enterprising appearance. We’re talking about a man who embraces life as it comes to him and knows how to make the most of what he has. Initially attempting to pursue a career in acting, he suddenly realized his talent is a very different kind of performing. Charlie was born to be a pop star. But not just any kind of pop star. He specializes in giving his audience a unique experience that leaves them wondering what they just saw. His goal is to change the way the music industry sees male pop artists and so far, through his daring music and fearless live shows, he’s definitely doing something right. If you know how to appreciate original content and artists who want to make a difference, then read on. I present to you… Charlie Romero:

For our readers who have never heard your music, explain your sound in 5 words.
Glow In the Dark Experience

What’s your favorite part about the songwriting, producing and performing process?
Creating. I feel so blessed to be able to bring my craziness to life together with the amazingly talented people of my creative team “the galaxy". When u work with people that believe in you and with people you trust, magic happens. It would be silly to say that i did it all on my own. But the most rewarding part is watching a crowd enjoy themselves while we bleed on stage for them. It’s a lot of work to be an artist. You give up so much to do what u love. One of my college professor once told me, " never bleed for your audience" but I always do what people tell me not to do in the end the only place I wanna bleed in is on stage. Not knowing what’s going to happen every time I create is exciting, I give my all when it comes to art, I always think "here today, gone tomorrow" what it all comes down to is my own happiness.

What other producers, songwriters and/or artists do you see as your primary inspirations? Or does your inspiration come from other places and not individuals?
Gary Glitter is the reason why I do what do. When I was taking guitar lessons my instructor taught me all about 1970s glam rock but when he introduced me to Glitter it was instant love at first sight musically and artistically, his stage presence, his attitude and his talent, I think I bring out all of those elements on stage. The Los Angeles underground artists, club kid scene, and raves in California are things that I grew up in and always refer to for inspiration. I’ve noticed that the artists I love like to have fun, don’t take themselves too seriously. It’s very punk. MC Hammer, Beastie Boys, my daddy Har Mar Superstar and my mommy Peaches. My friends also give me plenty to write about, also my personal struggles. I try to be aware of everything that happens around me. I’ve written entire songs in my dreams and when wake up it’s gone, so I always keep a notebook with me because inspirations can come anywhere any time.

Do you feel that your audacity has helped your career? If so, how?
Being an independent artist allows me to fully express myself, not having to censor anything I do is never I bad thing. When I am in dressing room putting on my war paint and then jumping on stage I think if it as a battle I always have to win by the end of my set. I’m doing things that no other male pop artist dares to do. That what’s fun about my shows and my music, I’m not afraid to get messy, I wanna lift people’s spirits, embrace their imperfections, have them take off their shoes and dance. So has that helped my career? Hell yeah! If people are taking about me, then I must be doing something right. I’m not perfect and I’m not trying to be either, I think of myself as a giant party, all are welcomed. I have a lil’ somethin’ for everyone.

Do you have a favorite musical project that you’ve worked on or are currently working on?
Currently I am wrapping up production only first album " born to be alive" which will be out this year. It is an electro/ dance/pop with a little bit of old school rap album. I’ve never shared this before with anyone but the entire album is an online collaboration. I met Musicians, writers, producers on music websites. We would send ideas back an forth till we had something worth recording. At the the beginning I didn’t know anyone that could help me and if I did, they were just too busy trying to make it on their own so the only resources I had were online. After giving up acting I made the right choice to go with music. I woke up one day, said "I wanna be a pop star" and now here I am, I worked hard though. I practically had to sell my soul to make this album happen but every ounce of blood was worth it. Everything I know about music I owe to all the people I’ve met while working on this project, I’m so damn proud of it! Now I’m itching for people to hear it, but for now my current single is out "Born To Be Alive" I’ve currently teamed up with non-profit organizations that empower and strengthen the lives of young teens. Every time someone buys a copy of my single on iTunes or my website http://www.charlie-romero.com 100% of the proceeds go to a new organization every month. It’s my way of giving back to my community and organizations similar to the one that helped me become the person i am now.

What do you like to do for fun outside of working on music?
Honestly to me my art is for fun, I do it to have a good time. I can’t see myself doing anything else but art. I sleep, eat and breathe art 24/7.

What is the most trouble you’ve ever gotten into over your daring appearances?
I’m all about the peace, love, unity, and respect. I do love to entertain people and my audience knows I do it all for fun. I love pushing my performances to the limit. I haven’t gotten into any trouble yet but I don’t doubt I will get into some sooner or later. All i can say is if you come to my show you will leave covered in oil, glitter and blood. It’s nothing you wanna hear or see. It’s something you have to experience.

Do you have advice for young people who also want to become innovative pop music producers?
I have 3 bits of advice:

1. Be nice.
Be nice to the people you meet, especially if you want to make it in the industry. If you are difficult to work with they will let others know, and if they love you they will also let others know. It’s a small world. People talk. Be nice.

2. Don’t dream it, be it!
Just do it, don’t wait till you’re ready. You might never be ready so just go for it. Work with what you have and own it. The only way to get things done is to take action and keep working on your craft. The only way you will learn is by doing.

3. Fake it till you make it
Be the best that you can be. Make good work and send it out into the universe. Let people enjoy what you’ve created. Let people know you have a gift and don’t stop until everyone sees things the way you see them.

What’s your motto or the advice that you live by?
Never take No for an answer!

Do you ever feel like there are certain things you would like to change about your job?
No, not at all. I want it all. I know what I’m in for.

Any regrets?
Not yet, so stay tuned.

I do believe Charlie’s last remark says it all. There’s still a lot to expect from this young man, so don’t miss what’s yet to come.

Leave a Reply

