SANTINO ~Take Him With You~

COVER & FEATURE
By Diego Valiente

Llevame Contigo Album for sale in September, 2009.
The Album is compelling, passionate and creative!

Who are your inspirations? (as in other artists)

SANTINO: Every artist inspires me in different aspects… It is very difficult to mention just one o two… because I grew up with Heavy Metal and Progressive Rock (from Led Zeppelin, Iron Maiden to Rush), afterwards I listened to Electronic Music (from Massive Attack to Thievery Corporation, Gotan Project), Urban Music (from Alicia Keys to Kanye West), Rock (from Foofighters to Radiohead, Bjork), Singer Songwriter or Reggae (from Jehro to Stephen Marley), Buena Vista Social Club, Jazz , etc.

So, I can say that the inspiration comes with the mood of the day.

How did you get started?

SANTINO: At 14 y/o with an electric guitar… I started composing my first tunes with 2 strings… then I created a band and little by little I worked on becoming a better musician… I studied music, harmony, arrangements, and the most important part was when I decided to become a singer… I took it very seriously and trained with 5 different teachers… I was very focused to becoming the best singer… then year after year I was a part of different bands, every time with better musicians and tighter shows, until I ended up being the lead singer of the most important band in PERU named “FRAGIL” at the age of 19.

I made an album with them and toured quite a bit… after 5 years, I decided to become an international artist… that’s why I came to Los Angeles…where I formed another band. With them, I opened shows for Maná and many other mainstream artists… However, after all the experiences, I was ready to move forward as a solo artist, hence SANTINO, which is my real name.

 

Who are your favorite bands/singers?

SANTINO: Mmmmmmmm!!! Difficult… but I would have to say Led Zeppelin… they have it all!


What else can we expect from you in the future?

SANTINO: Well, It is hard to predict the future, especially in this career… but the only thing I know is that I am a music producer, I will make lots of albums and I will perform until my voice is over! The rest is the rest… famous or not, I didn’t choose to be an artist… the universe gave me this gift and I’m trying my best to make the best of it!


What kind of music do you listen to today?

SANTINO: I was listening to my latest album for the past month… just to polish it before the train passes the station… Otherwise, I like to put on Pandora and just listen to new stuff. There is plenty of good music out there…


What embarrassing songs might I find on your MP3 player?

“Womanizer” by Britney Spears maybe…although I’m not really embarrassed by any music I listen to…


Any loves, other than music?

SANTINO: I like to create stories for movies… I just finished one right now and the name is FORBIDDEN… it will be a very good project.

I produced TV shows in Los Angeles… and I directed a couple of music videos.


Any celeb crushes?

SANTINO: What does this mean, whether I would have sex with a celebrity? Hahahaha. Fame doesn’t turn me on… There are beautiful people everywhere … Though I like to know the person first in order to have a crush.


Fave color?

SANTINO: RED

 

Secret craving?

SANTINO: beer

 

Fave food?

SANTINO: Peruvian, French, Italian, Chinese


Where would you most like to perform?

SANTINO: every place is special… it’s the people that makes the difference.


Who would you most like to open for?

RADIOHEAD, U2, etc.


If you weren’t singing, what would you be doing?

SANTINO: I was a very good soccer player… probably that… something with passion!


Do you play any instruments?

SANTINO: I play guitar, bass, drums, piano, and I play percussion, strings and horns in my head… so, I usually write everything and tell the musicians what to play.


If you could dabble in another genre of music, what would it be?

SANTINO: I am songwriter and I love to experiment with different genres… fortunately I like all types of music and I go for it! I’m working on a Latin folk album, an electronic lounge album, and would like to do a reggae / singer songwriter record next.


What genre of music can’t you stand listening to?

SANTINO: I like all types of music… but after 20 minutes of Reggaeton or Country Music, I start getting a little saturated.

Visit him here

     

One response to “SANTINO ~Take Him With You~

  1. Pingback: *TheRevista Magazine 2nd Edition* | TheRevista Magazine·

Leave a Reply

