Interview with Star CECI BASTIDA

Column: MUSIC VAN

Ceci, when did you first start singing?
I started playing with a band in 1989 and started singing with them around 1990.

What did your family do to encourage you?
My mom played piano since she was little so I watched her play constantly when I was a kid and my dad loved to sing. They realized that I was passionate about doing music and always respected that. As long as I did well in school. That was their only condition.

Who are your musical inspirations?
I used to love The Clash when I was growing up but I’ve listened to a lot since then and have been inspired by many bands and singers like David Bowie, Bob Marley, Jay-Z, Lykke Li, Santigold, Nneka.

What kind of music do you listen to today?
I listen to a lot of different music, electronic, hip hop, folk, etc.

What embarrassing songs might I find on your MP3 player?
I think I have some Beyonce in there but I don’t think it’s that embarrassing. If you weren’t singing, what would you be doing? I’m not sure.. i would’ve loved to have been a dancer. I also studied History so maybe something related to that. If you could dabble in another genre of music, what would it be? Not sure.. I’d love to do music for film. What hidden talents do you have? I’m a good with impersonations…

Where will you be performing next?
I have a couple of shows with Babasónicos. One in Anaheim (August 22nd) at the House of Blues and another one in San Diego (August 23rd) at the House of Blues.

What would you like to say to your fans?
That I’m extremely grateful for their support.. It has been amazing.

What would you like to accomplish with your music?
I’d like to always be proud of what I write. I would love to keep learning and keep experimenting and hopefully people will like it.

Leave a Reply

